Share it
Source: Rocio Barreto Tosi

485th Anniversary of the Lima Foundation





18 January 2020


History of Lima
Facebook / Events
Lima Districts Location
Info Lima Peru Celebra
January 18 al 25 Free Tours


Saturday, January 18, 2020 “The City of Lima Celebrates its 485 Anniversary of the Foundation”.
Lima the capital of Peru was founded on January 18, 1535 by the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro, who called it the City of Kings, in honor of the Spanish kings Carlos I and Juana de Castilla.
Peruvian archaeologist Pedro Villar argues that the name of the capital has Aymara Limac origin and means “yellow flower”.
Lima was the capital of the Viceroyalty and the most important city in South America. By order of Pizarro 117 blocks were built, divided into four large plots, on an area of  214 hectares. Initially Lima housed approximately 70 Spaniards.
Already by 1614, the population reached 26,441 people: 40% Spanish, 39% black, 10% clergy, 8% Indians and 3% mulattos or mestizos. The independence of Peru in 1821, was the starting point of the birth of the Republic of Peru and Lima continued to be the capital. Lima.
Since 1991 the Historic Center of Lima is a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage.
Lima Area 2672 Km².
Lima Census 2017 according to INEI figures 8.5 million inhabitants, 30% of the Peruvian population.
Lima Districts 43 and five of them have a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean from the Costa Verde Beaches Circuit (Magdalena, San Isidro, Miraflores, Barranco & Chorrillos districts).